Luxembourg National Division

Luxembourg National Division

The National Division (Luxembourgish: Nationaldivisioun, French: Division Nationale, German: Nationaldivision) is the highest football league in Luxembourg. Until 2011, it was known as the BGL Ligue, after the Luxembourg Football Federation managed to seal a sponsorship deal with Fortis. Before 2006, it contained twelve teams, but it expanded to fourteen for the 2006–07 season, and it has maintained this number since. The current champions are F91 Dudelange. The competition was first held in 1909–10, and has been held every year since, with the exceptions of 1912–13 and four seasons during the Second World War. The competition was called the Luxembourgish Championship (Luxembourgish: Lëtzebuerger Championnat, French: Championnat Luxembourgeois) until 1913–14. From the 1914–15 season until 1931–32 it was called the Premier Division (Luxembourgish: Éischt Divisioun, French: Première Division). It was then called the Division of Honour (Luxembourgish: Éirendivisioun, French: Division d'Honneur) from 1932–33 to 1956–57. Since the 1957–58 season, the competition has been known as the National Division.

Current Season



Next Event

Last Event

© 2022 - WEBVANEXP - All Rights Reserved