Malaysian Premier League

Malaysian Premier League

Malaysia Premier League (Malay: Liga Premier) is the current second-tier football league in Malaysia. The league replaced the former second-tier league Liga Perdana 2 in Malaysian football league system. Premier League is contested by 12 clubs. Seasons run from February to October. The season starts in early February and lasts until late October, with a Ramadan break for a month. Teams play 22 matches each (playing each team in the league twice, home and away), totalling 132 matches in the season. Most games are played on Fridays, with a few games played during weekdays. The league operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Liga Super for promotion and Liga FAM for relegation. In 2015, Football Malaysia Limited Liability Partnership (FMLLP) was created in the course of privatisation of the Malaysian football league system. The partnership saw all 24 teams of Liga Super and Liga Premier including FAM as the Managing Partner and MP & Silva as a special partner (FAM's global media and commercial advisor) to become stakeholders in the company. FMLLP owns, operates and runs five entities in Malaysian football under its jurisdiction, which include Liga Super (MSL), the Liga Premier, the Piala FA, the Piala Malaysia and the Piala Sumbangsih. It aims to transform and move Malaysian football forward. From the 2016 season to the 2018 season, the league was known as 100plus Liga Premier for sponsorship reason. The current champion is Sabah which won the league in 2019.

Current Season



Next Event

Last Event

© 2022 - WEBVANEXP - All Rights Reserved